The Barroso region, which covers the municipalities of Boticas and Montalegre, was the first in Portugal to be classified as a World Agricultural Heritage by the FAO, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Based on the authenticity of the territory, the traditional way of working the land, treating livestock, and the communitarianism of its inhabitants.

The GIAHS Observatory Network – Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems, aims to make visitors aware of some of the landscapes that have contributed to this recognition.

The Network aims to make visitors aware of some of the landscapes that have contributed to this recognition.

Olhar do Guerreiro (Eye of the Warrior)

Olhar do Guerreiro. Photo TR/VB

In Alto do Castro, there is a visual domain of the entire agricultural valley of Covas do Barroso. The parish, the fourth largest in the county, occupying a total area of 29.6 km2, consists of Covas do Barroso, the parish’s headquarters, Romainho and Muro. More


Segredo do Barroso (Barroso Secret)

Segredo do Barroso. Photo TR/VB

Here we understand why the Barroso region was classified as a World Heritage Site by the United Nations. A dazzling landscape of meadows, rocks and hills, interspersed with small streams of crystalline water, where animals and shepherds wander in harmony. More

Tesouro do Barroso (Barroso Treasury)

Tesouro do Barroso. Photo TR/VB

Located at the top of Serra de Seirrãos at 803 metres, the viewpoint provides the best known view of the town of Boticas. Surrounded by agricultural fields, with Serra do Leiranco in the background, it is a mandatory postcard for those visiting the municipality. More

Teto do Mundo (Roof of the World)

Teto do Mundo. Photo TR/VB

At the top of the Hillfort of Couto dos Corvos, overlooking the left bank of the Rabagão River, one benefits from a stunning landscape, from the Larouco and Gerês mountains, in the north and northwest, to the Cabreira and Marão mountains, in the south. More

SOURCEMunicipality of Boticas